Renewing Your Tag? The Florida Legislature has passed a bill reducing vehicle registration fees, effective September 1. If your registration expires prior to September 1, for maximum savings, please do not opt for a 2-year tag renewal. No refunds can be issued once the 2-year renewal has been submitted.
Please Remember: Tags & Registrations expire at midnight on your birthday.
As of January 1, 2010, Florida enacted new documentation requirements for residents renewing or obtaining a new driver license or identification card. For office visits, you must bring original documents that prove your identity, social security number and residential address. Visit www.gathergoget.com to find out what you will need to bring.
Online Registration Renewal and/or Change of Address. You will be transferred to GoRenew.com, the State of Florida online Motor Vehicle services.
Get a Fast Title! What's a fast title? No waiting for Tallahassee to process and mail your title, you leave our office with your title. Fast titles are done on simple, clean title transactions, including transfers and duplicates and cost an additional $10.00.
Vehicle & Vessel Registration
Please be aware there are many versions of a title in circulation, so when completing your transfer, make sure you are putting the information in the correct location.
Section 320.02(1), Florida Statutes provides, "Except as otherwise provided in this Chapter, every owner or person in charge of a motor vehicle which is operated or driven on the roads of this state shall register the vehicle in this state."
No registration is required for any motor vehicle which is not operated on the roads of this state during the registration period. The only exception to this is a mobile home, which must be registered regardless of whether it is being used, per section 320.18, Florida Statutes. Call Tag Agency for price for registration.
Selling a Vehicle In Florida? Get this helpful Guide to Help you Sell and Legally Transfer Titles.
Purchase of a Vehicle by an Out-Of-State Resident
- When a resident of another state purchases a vehicle in Florida for use in applicant's home state, it is not subject to Florida title or registration.
- If a vehicle is financed by a Florida lending institution, the lien should be filed in the applicant's state of legal residence.
- A Florida title will not be issued for the purpose of recording a lien.
Ownership of a Vehicle by a Minor
There is not a statutory age limit on any persons for ownership of a motor vehicle. However, you may want to check with the insurance company before titling vehicle in the name of a minor. The following is a list of person(s) authorized to sign the application for certificate of title for the minor.
- The minor
- The minor's natural guardian.
- The minor's appointed guardian. The letters of guardianship must be submitted with application.
If the Minor has no proof of picture ID, Driver License or Passport a Birth Certificate would be acceptable if under 5 years of age.
Section 320.10, Florida Statutes, provides an exemption from the registration tax imposed by Section 320.08, Florida Statutes, for any motor vehicle or mobile home owned by, and operated exclusively for the personal use of, any member of the United States Armed Forces who is not a resident of this state while in compliance with military or naval orders.
The fact that a non-resident service member may place children in the public schools of this state or the spouse or any member of immediate family of a non-resident service member may become employed would not make their motor vehicles subject to Florida registration. Under the Soldiers' and Sailors' Relief Act of 1940, the service member may display current license plates from the home state or from the state he or she is stationed in.
Non-Resident Military Exception Eligibility
To establish the eligibility for the exemption, the non-resident military member must submit a copy of the military orders assigning the applicant to Florida military duty station or a copy of the leave and earning statement to the county license plate agency. This evidence should be returned to the service person.
Section 320.02(5)(a) Florida Statutes, requires a motor vehicle owner to provide proof that personal injury protection benefits have been purchased when required under s. 627.733, that property damage liability coverage has been purchased as required under s. 324.022 and that combined bodily liability insurance and property damage liability insurance have been purchased when required under s. 627.7415.
Proof of insurance coverage shall be provided by the applicant at the time of application for the registration of any motor vehicle owned as defined in s. 627.732 in the manner prescribed by law. The issuing license plate agent shall refuse to issue registration if such proof of insurance is not provided. Chapters 316, 320, 324, 626, and 627, related to motor vehicle registration and insurance requirements established by the "Motor Vehicle Insurance Reform Act of 1988", Chapter 88-730, provide for stricter verification of motor vehicle insurance, prior to registration. As a result of the act, insurance companies selling motor vehicle insurance in Florida must report the insurance and discontinuance of vehicle policies in Florida.
Policy information as reported to the Florida Department of Insurance by insurance companies is placed on an insurance data file which is matched against both the vehicle data file and the driver license data file maintained by the Department. Information provided by insurers will be used to indicate insurance status on the vehicle file.